Categories: ,
TOW LINES front cover

tow lines back cover

Rory’s new physical album TOW LINES will be released on May 26th 2024



Rory’s New album TOW LINES physical CD will be AVAILABLE ON 26th MAY 2024

tracks are as follows:

1. Waterproof.
2. On a clear day
3. You don’t know her like I do
4. I’ve moored everywhere
5. Living on the edge.
6. Just add water
7. Clap for the capitalists
8. Didn’t he ramble
9. New navvy
10. Everybody’s fault but mine.
11. Older than Elvis.

“TOW LINES” will be Rory McLeod’s 13th album and comprises 12 new songs including 7 that were used in ‘The Grit of Life’ – a musical theatre show based and performed on a travelling canal boat theatre, The Widgeon’ that toured the UK in 2021.

Some of Rory’s songs on “TOW LINES” were inspired by his lockdown experiences and also reflect his cultural, social and political reflections.

‘You don’t know her like I do’ is a Love Song “about stubbornly liking and loving someone, whom others are trying to demonise and discourage the singer from loving”. The song could also be understood as an allegory.

‘Didn’t he ramble’ is a song for late departed friends (including singer Brendan Croker) lost in the past couple of years.

‘Clap the Capitalists’: Rory is known for his firebrand cultural and social commentary and his ‘angry love songs’. He was challenged to write a song by some friends when he was passionately ranting about the state of the nation. As Rory explained, “The song was written after Prime Minister Boris Johnson said ‘We should clap for the capitalists’. It is unashamedly partisan and full of scathing satire and sarcasm”.

‘Everybody’s fault but mine’: Made during lockdown, this is a topical re-working of Blind Willy Johnson’s song, ‘It’s nobody’s fault but mine’.

‘Older than Elvis’ is an affectionate, tragic-comic song narrative about an Elvis Tribute act who realises, tragically, that on his next birthday, he is going to become older than Elvis.


Released: 26th May 2024
Catalogue Number: TALK007 (Talkative Music)